Quality Assurance

The University of Zurich's aim in offering continuing education is to make a material contribution to lifelong learning, especially for academics. The offering has grown organically, and currently consists of around 50 programs. The regulatory framework is laid down in the Regulations on Continuing Education.

The University of Zurich's excellent reputation as a center of education and research means it can guarantee quality, high-level continuing education. There are various measures in place to ensure that high standards of quality are attained and maintained.

High Quality Standards

Right from the development stage, comprehensive market analysis is done to ascertain the practical relevance of and specific need for a program. Not only this, but new programs are always reviewed by the University's Committee for Continuing Education and the faculty responsible, and the relevant ordinances go through all the University channels. The high quality of the University of Zurich's continuing education offerings is also thanks in large part to the dedication of the instructors and their active involvement in research. At least half of the people sitting on the management bodies responsible for designing and conducting continuing education courses and programs do research at the University, and the instructors are also actively involved in research. External instructors with experience in the relevant area of research or professional practice are also brought in. These people also generally have an academic background. Admission to the University of Zurich's continuing education programs requires a Master’s degree from an accredited university and professional experience. Only in exceptional cases can candidates be admitted on the basis of a written application. This ensures that students will receive academic-level continuing education and the opportunity able to build valuable networks. This admission requirements are particularly important given that the University of Zurich's continuing education offering is built on on the University's scholarly expertise and thus reflects the quality of research and instruction at the University of Zurich overall. The research-related aspect of the continuing education provided by the University of Zurich and other universities is what enables it to stand out from other continuing education providers, without neglecting the transfer between academia and professional practice.

Common Principles

This type of quality standards and permanent quality management ensures that the University of Zurich's continuing education programs are sustainable. Responsibility for this lies with the faculties, although there are common principles and guidelines to facilitate quality management across the University. The quality principles and recommendations issued by Swissuni are an important guide when it comes to assuring the quality of continuing education.

Central Quality Assurance

Alongside systematic quality assurance at program level by means of participant surveys, the quality of University of Zurich's continuing education offering as a whole is regularly reviewed and evaluated on behalf of the University's bodies. Responsibility for formulating quality assurance guidelines for continuing education programs lies with the Committee for Continuing Education. The committee works with the Office for Continuing Education, which once again has made assuring the quality of the University's continuing education part of its strategic objectives. Among other things, the Office for Continuing Education presents a situation analysis every two years. This analysis uses selected indicators (percentage of professors in management bodies, percentage of University instructors, percentage of instructors with a doctorate, percentage of participants with a university degree, etc.) to gauge whether the continuing education offering satisfies the quality requirements of a university.

Qualitätssicherung

Die Universität Zürich will mit ihrem Weiterbildungsangebot einen wesentlichen Beitrag zum Lebenslangen Lernen leisten und dazu beitragen, dass besonders Akademikerinnen und Akademiker sich kontinuierlich weiterqualifizieren können. Das Angebot ist historisch gewachsen und umfasst derzeit über 50 Studiengänge. Ein Weiterbildungsreglement legt die Rahmenbedingungen fest.

Als herausragende Bildungs- und Forschungsinstitution bürgt die Universität Zürich mit ihrem Namen für die Qualität und das hohe Niveau der Weiterbildungsangebote. Um die Qualität hoch zu halten, werden verschiedene qualitätsfördernde und –sichernde Massnahmen eingesetzt.

Hohe Qualitätsstandards

Bereits während der Programmentwicklung wird durch umfangreiche Marktanalysen die Verbindung zur Praxis hergestellt und der spezifische Bedarf analysiert. Neue Studiengänge werden zudem immer von der universitätseigenen Weiterbildungskommission und der zuständigen Fakultät geprüft, die Verordnungen durchlaufen sämtliche Instanzen der Universität. Die hohe Qualität der Weiterbildungsangebote der Universität Zürich beruht zudem massgebend auf dem Engagement und der Verankerung der Lehrenden in der Forschung. Die für die Inhalte und Durchführung zuständigen Leitungsgremien bestehen mindestens zur Hälfte aus Personen, die an der Universität forschen, die Dozierenden zeichnen sich dadurch aus, dass sie aktiv in der Forschung tätig sind. Zusätzlich werden externe Dozierenden, die einen Bezug zum Forschungsgebiet und/oder zur Praxis aufweisen, einbezogen. Auch diese Dozierenden haben in der Regel einen akademischen Hintergrund. Für die Zulassung zum Weiterbildungsprogramm der Universität Zürich müssen die Studierenden einen Hochschulabschluss auf Masterstufe und Berufserfahrung aufweisen. Nur in Ausnahmefällen können auch Personen «sur dossier» aufgenommen werden. Dadurch ist eine Weiterbildung auf wissenschaftlichem Niveau gewährleistet und die Teilnehmenden können wertvolle Netzwerke aufbauen. Diese Aufnahmekriterien sind insbesondere deswegen wichtig, da sich das Weiterbildungsangebot der Universität Zürich an der wissenschaftlichen Kompetenz der Universität ausrichtet und so die Qualität der Forschung und der Lehre an der Universität Zürich insgesamt widerspiegelt. Durch diesen Forschungsbezug unterscheiden sich die Weiterbildungsangebote der Universität Zürich und den anderen Universitäten allgemein von Weiterbildungen anderer Anbieter, ohne dabei den Austausch von Wissenschaft und Praxis zu vernachlässigen.

Gemeinsame Grundsätze

Derartige Qualitätsstandards und ein kontinuierliches Qualitätsmanagement der Weiterbildungsprogramme garantieren die Nachhaltigkeit des Weiterbildungsangebots der Universität Zürich. Die Verantwortung dafür liegt bei den Fakultäten, gemeinsame Grundsätze und Leitlinien ermöglichen jedoch ein gesamtuniversitäres Qualitätsmanagement. Eine wichtige Orientierung für die Qualität der Weiterbildung bieten dabei die von den Swissuni verfassten Qualitätsgrundsätze und Empfehlungen.

Zentrale Qualitätssicherung

Neben der systematischen Qualitätssicherung auf Programmebene durch die Befragung der Teilnehmenden wird das Weiterbildungsangebot der Universität Zürich als Gesamtes regelmässig bezüglich Qualität analysiert und zuhanden der universitären Gremien ausgewertet. Die Zuständigkeit für die Ausarbeitung von Richtlinien für die Qualitätssicherung der Weiterbildungsprogramme liegt bei der Weiterbildungskommission. Sie arbeitet mit der Fachstelle für Weiterbildung zusammen, welche sich die Qualitätssicherung der universitären Weiterbildung erneut in ihren strategischen Zielen zur Aufgabe gesetzt hat. Die Fachstelle für Weiterbildung legt dabei unter anderem alle zwei Jahre eine Situationsanalyse vor. Bei der Analyse wird anhand ausgewählter Kennzahlen (Anteil Professorinnen/Professoren im Leitungsgremium, Anteil Universitätsdozierende, Anteil Dozierende mit Promotion, Anteil Teilnehmende mit Hochschulabschluss, etc.) überprüft, ob das Weiterbildungsangebot den Qualitätsanforderungen einer Universität genügt.