Continuing Education in University Teaching and Learning

Academic Staff Development - Higher Education

 

Please note that most of our courses are held in German.

Unless otherwise stated, intermediate-level German language skills with regard to understanding and reading are required to participate in the programs. It is possible for the participants to speak English during the courses. Contributions and course assessments may be submitted in English.

 

Continuing Education in University Teaching and Learning comprises a comprehensive range of training for UZH instructors. The goal is to support instructors in honing their professional teaching skills, provide specialist knowledge related to university teaching and learning, and provide platforms for dialogue on good teaching and successful learning.

New to teaching

For instructors who are just beginning their teaching career at UZH, Continuing Education in University Teaching and Learning includes an introductory workshop (Début) prior to the semester where they can receive support with planning and giving courses. The workshop includes concepts and tools in university teaching and learning, and instructors will have the opportunity to work on their own course at the workshop

Systematically Building Teaching Skills

If you are an instructor and would like to systematically work on your teaching skills and acquire a certificate rather than just attending individual courses, you have the option of gaining the relevant qualification in the form of a single program: either the Teaching Skills program (6 ECTS points) or the CAS Higher Education (12 ECTS points).

Seminars and Workshops on Specific Topics

If you'd like to attend a course on a specific topic related to university teaching and learning, you can also choose from the extensive didactica program. Each semester almost 40 different courses are held in the following areas of practice:
  • Conducting courses
  • Preparing courses
  • Guiding and advising students
  • Measuring and assessing learning achievement
  • Evaluating courses
  • Reflecting on teaching

Bespoke Courses for Faculties, Departments, and Chairs

Faculties, departments, and chairs can request bespoke courses for their instructors on specific topics.

Hochschuldidaktische Weiterbildung für Dozierende der UZH

 

Die hochschuldidaktische Weiterbildung stellt für Dozierende der UZH ein umfangreiches Weiterbildungsprogramm zur Verfügung. Ziel ist es Dozierende bei der Professionalisierung der eigenen Lehrkompetenz zu begleiten, hochschuldidaktisches Fachwissen zur Verfügung zu stellen und Räume zum Austausch über gute Lehre und erfolgreiches Lernen zur Verfügung zu stellen. Je nach Ziel und persönlichem Bedarf kann aus verschiedenen Angeboten und Programmen ein individuelles Weiterbildungsprogramm zusammengestellt werden.

Neu in der Lehre

Für Dozierende, die an der UZH gerade mit der Lehre beginnen, bietet die Hochschuldidaktische Weiterbildung einen Einstiegsworkshop vor dem Semester an, der sie bei der konkreten Lehrveranstaltungsplanung und –durchführung unterstützt. Aktuelle hochschuldidaktische Konzepte und Tools werden vorgestellt. Dozierende können während der Veranstaltung an der Vorbereitung der eigenen Lehrveranstaltung arbeiten.

Systematischer Aufbau von Lehrkompetenz

Wenn Sie als Dozierende nicht nur einzelne Kurse besuchen möchten, sondern ihre Lehrkompetenz systematisch entwickeln und auch mit einem Zertifikat nachweisen möchten, haben die Möglichkeit mit dem Teaching Skills Programm (6 ECTS Punkte) oder dem CAS Hochschuldidaktik (12 ECTS Punkte) ein zusammenhängendes Qualifizierungsprogramm zu durchlaufen.

Themenspezifische Seminare und Workshops

Wenn Sie zu einem spezifischen Thema der Hochschuldidaktik einen Kurs besuchen möchten, können Sie aus dem vielfältigen Programm von didactica auswählen. In jedem Semester werden fast 40 verschiedene Kurse zu folgenden Handlungsfeldern angeboten:

  • Lehrveranstaltungen durchführen
  • Lehrveranstaltungen vorbereiten
  • Studierende begleiten und beraten
  • Lernleistungen messen und bewerten
  • Lehrveranstaltungen evaluieren und
  • Lehre reflektieren

Massgeschneiderte Angebote für Fakultäten, Institute und Lehrstühle

Neben dem Angebot für einzelne Dozierende können Fakultäten, Institute und Lehrstühle für Ihre Dozierenden zu bestimmten Themen massgeschneiderte Kurse anfragen.